1. You have the right to remain silent
The less you say, the better your chances are. Incriminating yourself is the last thing you want. Understanding Alabama’s DUI Laws can help your chances at a good outcome.
The first thing you want to do if you’ve been pulled over is to be calm. Always be polite to the officer in charge. Legally you are required to pass over your name, driver’s license, vehicle registration, and insurance if the police officer asks you. Beyond those requirements, anything else is not necessary. A police officer or a court of law cannot use what you don’t say as evidence of misconduct or criminality.
2. You can refuse the DUI tests
There are two distinct DUI testing methods in Alabama and most of the country.
The first is the DUI Field Sobriety Tests. These are the tests performed outside of one’s vehicle through physical movement. The three accepted tests are walking in a straight line heel-to-toe, following a pen with your eyes without moving your head, and the one-leg stand. Field Sobriety Tests are 100% voluntary and you can and should refuse them. Police use these tests to find probable cause which can be used in the charge against you.
The second set of tests are the chemical tests. This is what you would know as the breathalyzer or urine tests. Refusing these are also an option but they might come with some consequences like a license suspension for a set amount of time.
3. Your license does not need to be completely suspended
Refusing the chemical sobriety tests results in an automatic 90-day suspension of your driver’s license. This can potentially be a better result than submitting to one but rest assured with an experienced lawyer this consequence can be mitigated. You can receive temporary permission to drive in order to perform essential duties like go to work. An experienced Alabama Criminal Defense lawyer can better your chances at alleviating some of the consequences.
4. How much is the bond for a DUI in Alabama?
Bond for a crime in Alabama is usually determined by the nature of the crime and whether it is a misdemeanor or felony. The first three DUI charges on your record are all misdemeanors barring any other criminal activity when charged. This means DUIs are normally misdemeanors and thus require bond anywhere between $300 and $6,000.
5. Should I hire a lawyer for a DUI case? Will it even help?
Yes and Yes. Hiring a reputable lawyer, specifically a DUI lawyer, can be extremely beneficial. An attorney is not a wizard. They cannot make your charges magically disappear. But they can and will fight for your rights and guide you through an extremely technical process.
Speak with one of our attorneys before talking to the police. We will provide legal advice to strengthen your defense and advise you of what to do next.
Call us at (256) 236-7354 or click here to schedule a consultation and learn more about how we can help you beat these charges and get your life back to normal as soon as possible.